Hey, It’s Yet Another Post… About West Philly in Spring

I’m sitting here in my office, like you do on a  Saturday afternoon. It’s the start to many a post. The day-long sessions Saturday programs at the house seem to be the only time I can find inspiration for posts. Also, the ladies at book club urged me on to new posts. It’s not that I don’t think about posting often, it’s just well, my writing is haphazard at best. And in all honesty, it takes me an excruciatingly long time to edit myself, let alone draw from any experiences to write about. My private moments, remain to me so. And I’m left with craft and food posts or places to explore as this blog was once intended. And every four months or so, I post this same thought process. Enough of the verbal vomit.

So, as I type, it’s a bright beautiful blue Ferris Bueller-esque day out there Philly. The Go West Craft Fest is likely in full swing by now. That’s where I’d be were I the type to indulge in the occasional hookey. It’s a craft fair in a beloved place in which I’ve written about once already and taken countless photos. If you check back to my sister site, Philly Photo Culture, on Monday you’ll find a photo shoot from me and my dear travel companion, Iodophor Mary, as we over anticipated the spring azaleas last week. It’s much easier to post photos than thoughts at any rate. Yesterday was one of those Spring days in flux, the sky at turns tempestuous and sunny. I flitted from one West Philly location to another. Post-lunch I made my way over to The Woodlands bathed in sunlight in one moment, fearing a downpour the very next. And me without my umbrella. Passing through the front gates, the grey solidified, turning the early buds electric, just like the pre-rain smell accompanying my trip.

This path bisects the Cemetery north to south just West of Center Circle, leading from the front gate to the Mansion.

This path bisects the Cemetery north to south just West of Center Circle, leading from the front gate to the Mansion.

I made a bee line, that idiom still confuses me, to the mansion. Promising to devote my next few hours of leisure to volunteering.

The approach to the mansion, recently stucco'ed, looking less the stabilized ruin from my first visits summers ago.

The approach to the mansion the front of which was recently stuccoed looking less the stabilized ruin from my first visits summers ago.

And this is what came of one-and-a-half hours effort. It’s crowded, it’s chaotic but it’s my contribution to festivities in which, perhaps next year, I will be able to participate beyond spectator or volunteer. FYI, chalkboard drawings for those who favor the sinister hand require a backwards logic in order to work through placement of images and lettering without smudging or wiping out completely prior efforts. This accounts for the crowded borders and negative center, yeah that’s the reason.

My contribution to the Go West Craft Fest, this mess of a sign that ,despite it;s terrible layout from lack of design, brought me great joy to create.

My contribution to the Go West Craft Fest, this mess of a sign that, despite its terrible layout from lack of design, brought me great joy to create.

The flip side was more free-wheeling and fun.  Also, as I’ve found in many of my efforts, the less time and toil, the more I tend to enjoy the completed piece. Also, I must have spent the solid sunny hours of the day in the bright front oval office. as evidenced by these photos.

I've really gotten into fonts and typography in general lately.

I’ve really gotten into fonts and typography in general lately.

On my way out, the storm clouds gathered. I exited the cemetery to the right, heading east and wandered up the Schuylkill with Fairmount Bicycles as my destination. I was only intending to browse the selection, but in a week of impulse buys (a plane ticket to locales foreign on Wednesday), I bought a bike. It’s not lovely, it will not inspire jealousy nor hopefully (fingers crossed) theft. But it’s perfect for the three-and-a-half mile commute into work and longer trips out to the burbs. It may help to inspire fodder for future postings. With the storm imminent I timidly biked home, it was only my fourth bike ride as an adult and I haven’t exactly perfected balancing. Balancing while attempting hand signals is beyond my coordination abilities. By minutes I beat the darkening skies and downpours which ushered this beautiful day. Happy sunny Saturday folks!

I love the pops of electric chartreuse from the buds and the bright orange of the cyclist amidst the neutrals of the slab grey stones that mirror the stormy sky.

I love the pops of electric chartreuse from the buds and the bright orange of the cyclist amidst the neutrals of the slab grey stones that mirror the stormy sky.

Updates: I made it to Go West with 20 minutes to spare but it was still jam packed with people.

My sign in action.

My sign in action.

Without a bike lock, and, let's face it, cash poor I carried only inspiration from the vendors.

Without a bike lock, and, let’s face it, cash poor I carried only inspiration from the vendors.

Leave a Reply

