Girls’ Craft Night

This awesome photo of City Hall, taken by the talented Chris Hayner, covered badly with wax shit, 08 March 2014.

This awesome photo of City Hall, taken by the talented Chris Hayner, covered badly with wax shit by me, 08 March 2014.

A bottle of wine, my bike and a desire for lady crafts time carried me to Port Fishington last Saturday night. I know I’m not supposed to call the neighborhood by that name, but the boundaries are a little too fluid up there for me to ever know exactly where I am. A soundtrack of Nicole Atkins, Father John Misty, and this jaunty cover of Genesis’s “That’s All” by Clare and the Reasons accompanied our crafting.

Heated beeswax, wood-mounted photographs, and all types of tools to embellish, texturize and color the encaustic photos, 08 March 2014.

Heated beeswax, wood-mounted photographs, and all types of tools to embellish, texturize and color the encaustic photos, 08 March 2014.

On the docket for the evening, encaustic photography. Following a youtube tutorial on the method and a dinner of a very Spring-y pea & mint soup and bacon, sauteed onion & creme fraiche tartine, we got to work on our pieces. Mounting photos onto pre-cut wood blocks with Yes paste, we poured hot beeswax onto the photographs and pressed lace, beads, and drum snare wire into the pliable wax. That was it. Color sticks were rubbed into the drying wax to create highlights. Pieces of the wax were etched out to create more or less transparency. I did not have the patience not to constantly fiddle with my pieces in progress which resulted in the 9/11-like image of City Hall pictured. My intention was not to create a burning building on the brink of collapse, I just thought the snare wire made interesting, architectural impressions. Perhaps this might be my hot ticket entry into the booming First Friday market that is entirely composed of art school students posing as street vendors along the Christ Church courtyard.

Hayley, who taught the encaustic method did some nice work with wrought iron and a picture of a figurine and Christina used silver leaf to illuminate a gorgeous sunset photo. I look forward to Girls’ Craft Night again and the cocktails that accompanied the first. Perhaps next go-round, I can create something that doesn’t invoke the greatest tragedy in recent US history.

Hayley uses the pointy-end of a paint brush to dig out details on the shoes. Woah, did anyone else just have a Buffy flashback? Nope... just me... okay then, 08 March 2014.

Hayley uses the pointy-end of a paint brush to dig out details on the shoes. Woah, did anyone else just have a Buffy flashback? Nope… just me… okay then, 08 March 2014.

Hooray hooray, I'm your silver lining. Hooray hooray, but now I'm gold, 08 March 2014.

Hooray hooray, I’m your silver lining. Hooray hooray, but now I’m gold, 08 March 2014.

Leave a Reply

